Sports

Charlie Dean ‘Mankad’ fired: Heather Knight accuses Indian bowler Deepti Sharma of ‘lying’ about warning letter

Charlie Dean 'Mankad' fired: Heather Knight accuses Indian bowler Deepti Sharma of 'lying' about warning letter
Written by admin

“India were deserved winners. But no warnings were issued. They don’t have to be said, so that didn’t make the dismissal any less legitimate. But if they agree with the decision to influence the phase out, India should not feel the need to justify it by lying about warnings” – Knight

Last updated: 09/26/22 12:01 PM

India claimed a whitewash of the ODI series with a controversial ending that led to Deepti Sharma 'Mankading' Charlie Dean

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

India claimed a whitewash of the ODI series with a controversial ending that led to Deepti Sharma ‘Mankading’ Charlie Dean

India claimed a whitewash of the ODI series with a controversial ending that led to Deepti Sharma ‘Mankading’ Charlie Dean

Injured England skipper Heather Knight has accused Indian bowler Deepti Sharma of “lying” over claims that Charlie Dean was warned ahead of her release from “Mankad” on Saturday.

Dean was ejected at the end of the non-striker as England tried to get closer to an unlikely win after going 115-9 but with Dean comfortable at the crease on 47 before Sharma took the bails after she had entered her delivery step.

The dismissal of ‘Mankad’ was upheld by the third referee and sealed a 16-run victory and a 3-0 victory for India, with Dean tearfully throwing her racquet to the ground as the crowd booed at the manner of the win .

“It was a plan because we warned them [for leaving the crease early] repeatedly,” Sharma told reporters upon the team’s arrival in Kolkata.

“We did things according to the rules and guidelines.

“We also told the referees, but she was there [outside the crease]. There wasn’t much we could do.”

Highlights of the third one-day international match between England and India at Lord's

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights of the third one-day international match between England and India at Lord’s

Highlights of the third one-day international match between England and India at Lord’s

England captain Knight, who is currently out with a hip injury, has taken to Twitter to refute the claims.

“Game over, Charlie was rightly fired. India was the deserved winner of the game and series. But no warnings were issued,” she wrote.

“They don’t have to be given, so the dismissal didn’t make it any less legitimate.

“But if they are happy with the decision to affect the outlet, India should not feel the need to justify it by lying about warnings.”

Amy Jones says it was a 'disappointing end' to 3rd ODI as India took over the series with a 'mankading'

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Amy Jones says it was a ‘disappointing end’ to 3rd ODI as India took over the series with a ‘mankading’

Amy Jones says it was a ‘disappointing end’ to 3rd ODI as India took over the series with a ‘mankading’

ESPNcricinfo analyst Peter Della Penna has since reviewed Dean’s entire innings and found that she prematurely exited her crease a total of 72 times on Saturday.

Atherton: Responsibility for Mankad’s dismissal lay with England’s Charlie Dean

Sky Sports Cricket’s Michael Atherton said after the game…

“It’s pretty easy for me. The non-forward must remain in your court until the ball is released. That’s the law of the game.

“I always find it strange when ‘mankads’ happen. It’s historically associated with something sneaky, but whenever it happens, the focus is always on the fielding side and bowler as if they did something wrong.

“A ‘mankad’ can’t happen if the non-forward stays in his ground. And this is where the burden falls.

“In fact, the MCC issued a statement saying the game was properly governed.

Former England captain and Sky Sports cricket pundit Michael Atherton says the solution to the controversial 'mankad' is simple - it can't happen if the non-striker stays in their ground

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Former England captain and Sky Sports cricket pundit Michael Atherton says the solution to the controversial ‘mankad’ is simple – it can’t happen if the non-striker stays in their ground

Former England captain and Sky Sports cricket pundit Michael Atherton says the solution to the controversial ‘mankad’ is simple – it can’t happen if the non-striker stays in their ground

“I don’t think anyone would doubt that it was a miserable ending to the game.

“The game bubbled to a fine conclusion, England were really struggling, I think they were 115-9 at times, it was a nice recovery with Charlie Dean in the thick of it and it looked like they could have one Chance to win.And then “Mankads” usually happen!When the chase is close.

“And there’s no question that Deepti Sharma was looking for the opportunity. But Charlie Dean gave her the opportunity by not being on her property.

“From the moment the front foot landed, you could see them [Dean] slightly above her floor so that if the arm had passed the expected point of release she would have been a little further above her floor.

“So the message is really clear: if you’re a non-striker on the non-striker’s end, stay in your ground until you see the ball being released and that thing can never happen.

Harmanpreet Kaur says

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Harmanpreet Kaur says “India didn’t do anything new” when reflecting on his “mankading” to end the game

Harmanpreet Kaur says “India didn’t do anything new” when reflecting on his “mankading” to end the game

“The debate will never happen and all the emotion on social media cannot happen. It’s easy, stay grounded.

“The law is absolutely clear.”

Greenway: It doesn’t feel like the right way to win a game

Sky Sports Cricket’s Lydia Greenway said after the game…

“It just doesn’t feel like the right way to win a game.

“The first thing to say is that they are allowed to do that. You are entitled to be dealt a wicket in this way.

“I wouldn’t agree with the way it’s being handled. If I were captain of this team I would say let’s warn her and then make sure Charlie Dean knows what she’s doing.

“Because as a kid growing up on the game, you’re taught to drive backwards, and if you watch Charlie Dean walking backwards, she was just focused on what’s happening on the other end.

Former England cricketers Lydia Greenway and Dominic Cork discuss India's decision to eliminate Dean at the end of the non-strikers, securing their victory in the last one-day international of the summer at Lord's

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Former England cricketers Lydia Greenway and Dominic Cork discuss India’s decision to eliminate Dean at the end of the non-strikers, securing their victory in the last one-day international of the summer at Lord’s

Former England cricketers Lydia Greenway and Dominic Cork discuss India’s decision to eliminate Dean at the end of the non-strikers, securing their victory in the last one-day international of the summer at Lord’s

“I don’t think she was trying to gain an unfair advantage.

“She just focused on what was in hand. She just watched what happened, literally turned around and Deepti Sharma decided to do what we have to say she is allowed to do.

“What I would have liked to see would be a warning if I were the Indian captain.

“And I would be disappointed if England had done the same and not issued a warning.”


#Charlie #Dean #Mankad #fired #Heather #Knight #accuses #Indian #bowler #Deepti #Sharma #lying #warning #letter

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment